Contemporary Canadian Literature with a Distinctly Urban Twist

Anvil Press

Wilfrid Laurier University has named author Hilary Peach the winner of its 2023 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction for her book Thick Skin: Field Notes from a Sister in the Brotherhood. The $10,000 prize recognizes Canadian writers for a first or second work of creative non-fiction that includes a Canadian locale or significance.

Congratulations to Conyer Clayton! Her poetry collection, But the sun, and the fish, and the ships, and the waves. has won the 2023 Archibald Lampman Award for Poetry. The prize, given annually, “rec­og­nizes an out­stand­ing book of English-language poetry by an author liv­ing in the National Cap­i­tal Region.” And a further congratulations to Feed Dog Imprint Editor Stuart Ross.

Congratulations to Henry Doyle, whose poetry collection, No Shelter, has won the 2022 Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize (BC Book Prizes). And a further congratulations to the other finalists.

Congratulations to Martin West, whose novel Long Ride Yellow has been selected as the 2018 ReLit Award winner, novel category.

“If there were a literary prize for most fascinating Canadian setting and central character, Long Ride Yellow, Martin West’s first novel, would surely make the short list.”
— The Toronto Star

And to . . .

Michael Blouin, whose novel Skin House has won the 2020 ReLit Award, novel category.

“The book is irreverent and saucy, unexpected and poignant, none of which gives it enough credit.”
— The Miramichi Reader

We were greatly saddened to learn of the passing of one of our poets, Jeff Steudel, on February 2nd. Son, father, husband, teacher, musician, soccer enthusiast, poet, Jeff touched many around him with his warm and generous demeanour. Jeff’s poetry was published in numerous literary journals, won the Ralph Gustafson Poetry Prize, and was a finalist for the CBC Literary Awards. It was a great honour to publish his sole poetry collection, Foreign Park, in 2015, and we shared in his joy when it was announced as a Finalist for the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize (BC and Yukon Book Prizes). We wish we could have had the opportunity to publish more of Jeff’s fine work.

We were deeply saddened to receive the news that poet Michael Dennis passed away on December 31st. We were honoured to have published Bad Engine: New and Selected poems in 2017 and a new collection, Low Centre of Gravity, just last June. Besides being a poet, Michael was a generous and avid promoter of other poets. On his blog, Today’s Book of Poetry, he reviewed some 800 books of poetry over the past seven years. He was a mentor, an inspiration, and a friend to many other poets. His contribution to the discourse will be sorely missed.

Anvil Press is pleased to announce the reclamation of the International 3-Day Novel Contest, the world’s most notorious literary marathon. The 2020 contest took place this past Labour Day Weekend: Sept. 5 – 7. It was a great turnout, with 250+ writers hunkering down to write their short novels. Our panel of readers is now busy reading and reading and reading. We will announce a longlist early in the new year.

Mark your calendar for next year!

The basics: Writing starts midnite Friday of the long weekend and wraps up midnite of the holiday Monday. The winner receives money, publication, and overnight fame!

The entries are judged by a panel of writers and editors, which announces its winning selection in the spring of the following year. The winning novel is then published by Anvil Press.

2021 Contest:
The 44th Annual International
3-Day Novel Contest
Sept. 4 – 6, 2021

More information, rules and registration available at:
3-Day Novel Contest here.

Congratulations to Carleigh Baker, one of five emerging writers named 2020 Writers’ Trust Rising Stars. Each writer receives $5,000 toward their writing career, a writing residency, and a mentorship with an established Canadian author. Get your own copy of Carleigh’s award-winning debut story collection, Bad Endings here.

Congratulations to Heather Birrell and series editor Stuart Ross! Heather’s debut poetry collection, Float and Scurry has been selected as the winner of the 2020 Gerald Lampert Memorial Award. The award recognizes a first book of poetry published by a Canadian writer in the preceding year. The award carries a $2000 prize and is sponsored by the League of Canadian Poets. Float and Scurry is the most recent release in our “A Feed Dog Book” imprint, edited for the press by Stuart Ross. Get your copy of Float and Scurry here.

The Griffin Poetry Prize is awarded annually in two categories – International and Canadian. Each prize is worth C$65,000. In each category, the prize is for the best collection of poetry in English published during the preceding year. One prize goes to a living Canadian poet or translator, the other to a living poet or translator from any country, which may include Canada. Read more about her collection Quarrels here.